This is a dangerous thing to blog about… my health. Years ago, I was a very active, healthy person. However, as my priorities shifted with marriage and children, I have been “gifted” with more than a few extra pounds and a sedentary lifestyle.

Yes, this is entirely my fault.

After a visit to the doctor (getting the last one in before the uncomfortable “40 physical”) and a strong dose of reality (“You’re pretty healthy, but you won’t be able to keep up with your kids unless you start exercising and lose about thirty pounds!”), I’ve decided that it’s time to do something about it. So, last week my family joined the YMCA.

Now, I get how important it is to take care of your physical health (“Your body is a temple and all…”), but also think about the call to serve others (which includes giving time and energy to my family, the body of Christ, and the world). So, how does one fully live both of these out while also continuing to grow in relationship with God and others? There doesn’t appear to be enough time in the day.

I’d love to hear your thoughts.

