I saw Prince Caspian this weekend. It was an excellent follow up to the first film (The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe). As a youth worker, I thought there were many things that could be discussed if you brought a group to see it.

Synopsis: An uncle tries to kill his nephew (Caspian) and become king. Hidden in the forest, Caspian connects with the Narnians and (eventually) Aslan to battle back in order to regain the kingdom and freedom for all. It is the classic “good versus evil” story.

Great Quote: While waiting for Aslan, Lucy says, “You’re all acting like there are only two options: dying here or dying there … or have you forgotten who really defeated the White Witch, Peter?” Peter responds, “I think we’ve waited for Aslan long enough.”

Follow-up Quote: During what seems to be a dream, Lucy asks Aslan, “Where have you been? Why haven’t you come to help us?” Aslan says, “Things never happen the same way twice, dear one.” Something he repeats later in the film.

Rating: B+ Because of the battle scenes, it worth seeing in the theater. And, yes, I would pay to see it again.

Comment: Don’t mention this to my wife, but there were times where I almost started having a salty discharge from my eyes. I got caught up in the honor and integrity that was displayed on the screen and, it moved me, Bob.

For more resources connecting Prince Caspian and youth ministry, click here.

