I have three boys and I have a nickname for each of them. The eldest is “Bud” (short for “buddy”), the second is “Ash,” and the youngest is “Mystery” (or, just “E”). These names are endearing and show a closeness I have with them that is unique and special. The youngest actually calls me “Chocolate milk.” I’m not sure what that means, though.

In my devotions this morning I ran across a guy named Joseph (Acts 4:32-37). Joseph was one of those people that made a difference in the lives of others. He loved God and was a great example to others, so much so that the apostles gave him a nickname.

Imagine that! Imagine those who lived and walked with Jesus nicknaming you because of you great attitude and behavior. And, what did they call him? “Barnabas.” Yes, the same Barnabas many of us have heard or read about in the Bible. His real name is Joseph.

I got to thinking, if the people around me were to give me a nickname, what would it be? How am I described by others to others? Which led me to ask: Am I living my life in such a way that people see God in me? The apostles obviously saw much in Joseph, so much so that they called him “Son of Encouragement.” Now that would be a great nickname to have!

God, help us to live our lives in such a way that people see You. Help us to be an encouragement and a support to others. May Your Spirit lead and impact others and may You choose to use us as this happens. Amen.

