Saw Dan in Real Life last night with my bride. We both enjoyed it a lot. It follows three days of Dan, a single parent of three daughters, who take a trip to spend time with family. The movie does a great job of depicting the struggles in Dan’s life, especially in dealing with putting his children first and the constant feeling of loneliness. There were obvious times where the directing showed Dan in the midst of a dozen people at moment while in the next he would be standing in a hallway with all the doors closed around him. Brilliant! Even someone as dense as I caught that symbolism. (That, and having to sleep in the “special room” because he didn’t have a companion.)

Favorite Line: Dan’s brother… “I swear, the minute I saw her I felt like I was in the room with an angel.” Dan (who likes the girl, but no one knows) responds… “This corn is like an angel.” Classic Steve Carell

My Question: If you were put in Dan’s situation, wouldn’t you just leave? Of course, that would make for a bad movie.

My Rating: B+

My Comment: Overall a great film. Well worth the full rental price. I’d see it again.

