I ran across something in my devotions today. In Genesis 9:8-17 we see God telling Noah that He won’t destroy the earth by flood any more (v. 11). Well, that’s good news! One less thing to worry about. But God goes on to inform Noah that he’s sending a rainbow as a reminder of this commitment (actually, covenant) to the world (v. 12-14). This is good as well. Every time I see a rainbow I think it’s pretty amazing. Who doesn’t like a rainbow?

The next two verses caused me to pause. 15“And I will remember my covenant with you and with all living creatures. Never again will the floodwaters destroy all life. 16When I see the rainbow in the clouds, I will remember the eternal covenant between God and every living creature on earth.” What? God needs a reminder? What happens if God chooses to flood the world between rainbows? That would not be fun.

Okay, I looked up the Hebrew word (rk;z”, zakar) and it appears to be defined as: remember, recall, call to mind, usually as affecting present feeling, thought or action (Whittaker’s Lexicon). That’s a fancy way of saying that in remembering one is affected. So, God is affected with this remembering to not flood us. Now, I’m not sure but it seems that God’s flooding of the earth affected God greatly; even to the point where God won’t do that again. (Once again… good news.)

I think I might be looking at this wrong. We know God doesn’t forget and loves us more than we could ever love ourselves. And the second sentence in verse 15 isn’t connected with the first. The statement is… “Never again will the floodwaters destroy all life.” Period. The rainbow, then, could be to God just what it is to us… something beautiful. And possibly a reminder of a love that one (or One) has for another.

