Please know that I don’t have it all figured out.  As a matter of fact, when I read certain parts of the Bible, I get real nervous about telling others what it means.  Why?  Well, take a look…

 

In Galatians 5:13-24, Paul tells those who follow the “desires of your sinful nature” (v.19) that “anyone living that sort of life will not inherit the kingdom of God” (v.21).  Between the two statements is a list of items some of which I am prone to doing now and then.  So, where does this put me? 

 

I think this is where it’s important to take a step back and look at the context.  Paul is writing to people with a certain goal in mind… to tell the church in Galatia that their lives need to evidence their commitment to Christ.  This isn’t an issue of what we have already done (v.11-12), but what we are doing.  People ought to look at our lives and see us living for God and doing the things God wants.  And this is evidenced mostly in how we love others (see v.14). 

 

God, please help us to allow Your Spirit to produce Your fruit in us.  May our lives show You.  Amen.

