Can you imagine standing before God?  I get nervous just thinking about it.  I mean, it’s God, right?  Well, it’s going to happen and so I best be prepared.

In 1 John 3:18-22, John was thinking about standing before God as well.  He was relating it to how we need to go beyond saying we love people and actually live it out.  By doing this, we show what is the truth.  (So, truth is not knowledge alone?  Hmmm.)  Look at what John writes: “Our actions will show that we bleong to the truth, so we will be confident when we stand before God” (v.19).  It is our actions on earth that will give us confidence before God.  If this is the case, then each time I love someone I should be more confident, right?

Well, I think I’ll still be shaking in my boots.  I mean, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to love enough to stand before Him with confidence.  And I John understood this.  Look what he says in the next verse.  “Even if we feel guilty, God is greater than our feelings, and He knows everything” (v20).  This is what I needed to hear!  My feelings of inadequacy aren’t the issue here; truth is.  And since truth is connected to action, I need to be asking myself… What are my actions?  Am I loving God and others?  Since God already knows everything, what is the truth about my life?

Lord, please help me to truly love You and others.  May my life as a follower of Christ truthfully emulate the way Christ lives.  And God, may my confidence be from You when I stand before You.  Amen.

