I just finished a brief study on the Hebrew word “yada.”  It is commonly translated “to know,” but I’m finding that there is much more to these silly things we call words.  Think about it… you can “know” a fact (I know 2+2=4), you can “know” something in relationship (“I know my friend Joe.”), you can possess a secret (I am in the know) and you can even “know” someone through intercourse (I know my wife, if you know what I mean).

Okay, I’m rambling.  What did I learn?  Context is everything.  For example, in Deuteronomy 7:9 and Judges 3:2, to “know” means to understand God’s commandments given through God’s covenant AND TO DO THEM!  When you relate this to Judges 2:10 (“…and another generation grew up after them, who did not know the LORD or the work that he had done for Israel.”), it might not be that they didn’t realize who God is, but that they chose to not live for God.  Knowing isn’t just head knowledge here.  If we don’t do what God expects, we don’t really know God.  Pretty amazing, huh?  I thought it was something worth knowing.

